Follow the Rainbow

St Patricks Day Rainbow

The little girls and I did our first St. Patrick’s Day craft of the year the other day. Together we made rainbows with tissue paper. It was an easy project for both my little girls. The preschooler was able to understand that she was suppose to match the tissue paper to the colors of the rainbow. My 2 year old had a great time gluing any color of tissue paper to the rainbow.

St. Patricks Day Rainbow Paper

What you will need:

  • Crayons, red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple
  • Colored tissue paper, red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple
  • Glue
  • Paper

What you need to do to get crafty:

  • Before the kids started, I cut the tissue paper out into small squares and drew a rainbow on a piece of paper for each of the munchkins.
  • I put the glue on the rows of the rainbow on at at time.  I knew, if I put glue on every strip of the rainbow that would have gotten messy, really quick. Then the girls laid the tissue paper on top of the glue.

Preschool Rainbow

My four year old had a great time matching the tissue paper colors to the the rainbow stripes.

Toddler Rainbow

My 2 year old enjoyed gluing the paper to any strip on the rainbow.

Minnie's Rainbow

When were were done making our rainbows, we read one of our favorite books, Minnie’s Rainbow. I love this book. It reenforces colors of the rainbow and at the end it breaks down how a rainbow is actually created.

Leave a Reply

